MDU115.3 – My Model and Unreal Engine 4

An optional part of the assessment was to find out how to integrate my models into a game engine (I chose to do this in Unreal Engine 4). With some handy forum posts and guides by the software manufactures it was quite simple to figure out how to get my model into Unreal Engine 4 from 3DS Max. Simply had to select each model I wanted to export (individually so I found out the hard way) and export them as an object file which can then be imported into UE4. Sounds simple enough right? Well it is for now, as long as you export all of your models as individual objects so that when you import them into UE4 you can modify them separately. However as I used a composite material in Max transferring the textures over didn’t work so well I had to import my PSD texture files into UE4 and then convert them to materials and re-apply them to my models. Not too bad. Below are some screenshots of my model in UE4.

My sword (including some particle emitter effects I managed to tame enough to use)

My sword (including some particle emitter effects I managed to tame enough to use)

The particle effect I tamed

The particle effect I tamed

So the first is simply a screenshot of my models in UE4, all be it particle effect included on the blade. And the second is a screenshot of the particle effect, I believe I had to put about 8 of them along the length of the blade to get the desired effect but in UE4 I found you can have them as a component of the model itself which is mighty handy. I am looking forward to spending more time in the program to discover just how much It can add to my work.

James Day – 1002467

Leave a Reply

