Studio 1 Development Blog 2

Today I will be updating you on how the Studio 1 Character Design process is progressing. As part of our Studio 1 contact time with our facilitators we had a feedback session regarding our designs for our characters. In case you have forgotten the team I am working in are designing trainers and starter pokemon for a new generation pokemon mobile game. The brief states we are to create a new cast of characters that fit within an existing universe with the intention of creating a 3D model for the mobile platform thus requiring a super low polycount and texture sizes. Our team fell into an Australian themed design. Here is the first and second iterations of my design.

First:

Fimu

Second:

Fimu_v2

Following on from this I received feedback from my facilitators regarding the detail and overall look of my design. In short it is too complicated and the proportions are wrong for a first evolution pokemon. This feedback helped me to develop the following concepts.

Re-design Concepts:

Fimu_v2_4

Developing these designs further yielded this fellow:

Fimu_v3.1

So that’s the short version of how ‘Fimu’ went from kinda scary to cute-enough-to-cuddle and how applying feedback in an iterative fashion has helped improve my design.

The next stage of development for this project is to create a 3D model of this character for a mobile platform. This requires using a low polycount and low resolution textures. To prepare for this next stage I am currently working on creating a 3D model of a skeletal hand. The current plan it to create several versions of this model. The first will be what I can currently achieve with my current knowledge without worrying too much about the polycount and texture resolutions. Second I will do research on improving my texturing skills and 3D workflows and then apply the gained skills to my model to give a side by side comparison of how much the self-driven learning has improved my work. Thirdly I will create a super low poly version of the hand and apply my newly learned skills to it with the intention of yielding the best possible result in the most efficient manner. The third stage of development may involve several iterations reducing the polycount each time.

Till next time….

One comment

  1. chehubbardartist · October 15, 2015

    I love it!! You have done an excellent job of applying what was covered in class to your design. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

