Studio 1 Development Blog 15

More animation stuff again.

First off a sequence of images from my obstacle course that will help to illustrate what I am talking about.

The above sequence shows one small section of the obstacle course and how my character handled it. As you can see in the first frame there is a lot of anticipation for the coming leap, the character is coiled up, gathering energy to propel himself into the second frame. In the second frame (the apex of his first jump) he can be seen folded over with his legs out preparing for impact (you will see similar poses if you look into long jump in athletics). 3rd frame he has landed and is crouched over, this pose serves 2 purposes, it is absorbing the impact of the landing and anticipating the take-off for the next jump. Frame 4 isn’t quite as substantial of a jump and so in the apex he is stretched out as if jumping between stepping stones. Frame 5 he has just landed and is leaning back to ensure his momentum doesn’t topple him. Frame 6 is an extension of this as he uses the momentum from the jump to slide, slowing him down before the next obstacle and absorbing the excess energy from the previous jump.

I believe this sequence shows physically accurate weight and momentum that helps to build believable movement.

Additionally I have tried to incorporate the 12 principles of animation to my sequence.

Above you can see squash and stretch and anticipation. Although with Norman you don’t get to really squash him down or stretch him out in the traditional 2D sense of the principle you can coil him up and straighten him out to help show the action and exaggerate the forces of the actions. Also in the first frame you can see anticipation for the jump, building up the energy to make the leap.

To help control the staging of my animation I employed the use of a camera allowing me to control where on the screen the action happens. I used the placement of the character on screen and the angles of the shots to try to help emphasise some of the actions as seen below.

In the first sequence you can see follow-through and secondary action in the arms and as he absorbs his jump. The jump also demonstrates a nice arc.

Slow in and slow out has been used to help control the feel of the actions and the overall timing of the animation. I have used timing to try to help give believability to my animation however I do feel that timing is one of my weaker points when animating. I have incorporated exaggeration into my animation through the actions and poses as well as the camera angles to try to give a larger than life feel to the animation while still giving a believable result. As the animation was done in 3D solid drawing is already an integral part of the animation. Aesthetic appeal was limited to the modifications we could make to Norman and even those were limited by the scope of the project.

All and all I believe that I have employed the principles of animation and applied believable force and weight to actions to give a believable animation.

That’s all for today on animation.

Till next time.

Leave a Reply

