Studio 2 Development Blog 5

Welcome back,

Straight to it, today I want to share my progress on a few of my projects as well as give a first taste of a personal project I am working on.

First off, since last time I have spent a bit of time in UE4 working on blueprints. Below is a  screenshot of a basic one I have made. It’s pretty simple, it just spawns a particle effect at the location of the attached object. The particle effect lasts for a period of time, dies, and then spawns a new and different particle effect. Blueprint.PNGThis could be modified and implemented in a variety of ways, for instance, it could be used to spawn a fire on an object after an event, then after it has burned for a time the effect could be changed to a smoulder and finally changed again to smoke. But truth be told the true benefit to creating this blueprint has been to help teach me about how they work and enlighten me to what can be done with them.

The next step in my UE4 adventure will be to experiment with visual scripting within materials and textures to get some animated and dynamic materials.

Below are some assets I have been working on.

The first is a rock asset, I have sculpted quite a large rock with many faces so that it can be rotated and  scaled so that we don’t have to make/texture many different rocks. Also the third one is my Banjo sculpt mesh. To be honest I am not sure I have captured the feel of Banjo so I have held off on furthering the model until I can get some feedback from my group. The remaining image is of a steering console for a steam-punk Zeppelin. The plan is to animate it slowly turning which will affect the dials and cogs, some steam particle effects should help nicely.

Finally the thing I am most excited about but have little time for, the personal project I am working towards completing. I want to create an asset for something I am working on by following a full pipeline from concept to completion.

First stage of concepting is reference images. I am gathering more but at the present moment this is sort of like a mood board for the project.

I am in the early stages of creating a piece of concept art for the project. I’ll give you a sneak peak at the roughs. And that’s what they are, Rough. The idea is to just help me map out what I want to go where. Place holders I can replace with complete assets. Once complete it will be, hopefully, quite a nice piece of digital painting.Roughs

Anyway, that’s what I have been working on and a little sneak peak at the early stages of what will hopefully be the crowning jewel of this period of my craft development.

Till next time,

James Day – 1002467

Leave a Reply

