Studio 3 Development Blog 4

Welcome back,

Today I would like to have a bit of a look at where I am at as an artist, where I would like to be and how I plan on getting there. I am hoping that taking a detailed look at the specifics of my situation will help me to really focus on what I need to improve.

I am going to dive right in. Firstly I want to take a look at what sort of work I want to be producing in 5 years time.

Here are a few links to the sort of work I would like to be able to produce:

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/1X0Lq

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/QELYr

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/qZONN

https://www.artstation.com/artwork/xq9vr

I would like to focus on character assets as I find them the most interesting, that is not to say human or even humanoid, but just interesting characters. Could be a robot, a dragon, scorpion, alien or demon. Anything that I can sink my teeth into and really flesh out the details and the intricacies of the character.

The above list is also a good indicator the the quality of work I would like to produce. Other good examples of the level I would like to get to would be to that of Hai Phan. An amazing artist that produces work that I find inspiring.

When I really take a good look at where my work is at. I think I have grasp of the technical skills when it comes to 3D modelling, materials and shaders, 3D sculpting. The areas I would like to work on the way I set up my models for texturing and animation. The overall polish of my work needs to be improved. I feel like it is around 60% of where I want to be, I can achieve the shape but it lacks a certain something that really brings it to life. I need to work on my topology and my working knowledge of the technical side of what happens under the hood of 3D programs and how that impacts the way we use materials and shaders.

Further more from this I would like to work on the presentation of my work. This is that I would like to learn to put together a more effective showreel, this includes the lighting and posing of my models. Motion graphics and visual effects to help bring it to the next level.

If I had to narrow it down the key things I want to focus on are the appeal and polish of my models. Lighting and presentation. Motion graphics and VFX for the purposes of improving my showreel.

Some goals that I would like to hit by the end of the studio 3 experience are that I would like to produce a nice showreel (all the extras included) that exhibits at least one very polished and appealing model presented in an excellent way.

The key point I want to hit is creating a model that I can look at and say “That is awesome! There is nothing obvious that I need to change to make this look better!”

As always,

Thank you and till next time,

James Day – 1002467

Leave a Reply

